Global Pencil Shortage as Adults Buy More Coloring Books

The modern world pretty much runs from one fad to the next.  Everyone rushes to buy the next big thing: be it new clothing styles, new music, or an unexpectedly popular hobby.  Today’s latest fad, however, has threatened the world with a shortage of colored pencils.  Adult coloring books have taken the world by storm.

Faber-Castell, the world’s largest manufacturer of wooden pencils, have stated that they’ve experienced incredible growth due to this latest fad, and have had to run extra shifts just to keep up with demand.

“Currently, we are running more shifts than usual in our factory in Stein, Bavaria in order to satisfy the global needs for artists pencils related to the colouring trend for adults.  The trend is continuing to this day and can be felt globally – from South America to Asia.”

I can personally attest that the coloring book craze has hit America, as well.  I have friends who love adult coloring books.  They’re full of quite intricate, detailed patterns.  They’ve told me it’s a good, mindless distraction that can be stress relief.

People being people, however, they’re more than willing to spend money had over fist for it.  Reports say that people are buying the highest quality pencils possible, and the sale of coloring books has increased 300% in just one year.

Y’know, I should buy one of these coloring books.  It could be my response whenever people tell me that I’m immature and I need to grow up.  “Maybe later, I’m busy coloring right now.”

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/news/adult-colouring-book-craze-prompts-global-pencil-shortage-a6944401.html

